Welcome to MS100!
This guide provides additional resources you may find helpful as you take this course. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask your librarian!

This course has materials on course reserve. To see the full list of resources and their current availability click the link below:

Course Reserves for MS 100 - Theological Education and Spiritual Journey

Course reserves are available at the Circulation Desk. You may check out up to three items at a time for a three hour loan period. Reserves may be renewed up to two times if they are not on hold for another patron. If you check out a reserve within one hour of the library's closing, you may keep it overnight and return it within one hour of opening the following day. Overdue reserve items accumulate a fine of $1 per hour.
Seminary Librarian
 Photo of Myka Kennedy Stephens
Deaconess Myka Kennedy Stephens
Seminary Librarian and Assistant Professor of Theological Bibliography

Feel free to schedule an appointment with me to discuss your research needs. Click the button above to sign up for an available time.
Library Catalog Searches
A keyword search in the library catalog may be helpful to get started and learn about images of God in general.

Search the library catalog for: images of God 

There are two subject headings that are used to describe materials about images of God, for a more directed search.

  Image of God 
  Image (Theology) 

Try going to EBSCOhost , select the "ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials" and the "Religion and Philosophy Collection," and do the same keyword and subject searches to find journal articles on images of God.
Keyword Searching in Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Once you have decided on which image you would like to research, Oxford Biblical Studies Online can help you learn more about that image. (If you are off-campus, please read the note to the right about off-campus access.)

From the main screen, type your image into the search box at the top of the site. This will return a list of many different kinds of resources ranging from dictionaries to concordances. If you don't like the results you are getting, try searching for a different keyword that means something similar to your image.

A dictionary or encyclopedia entry may provide you with a good jumping-off point for your research. It won't be something to cite in your assignment, but it may point you in the right direction to find other resources you can cite in your assignment. 

Concordance entries show you where your image appears in scripture. Be attentive when selecting a concordance entry and make sure it matches the version of the Bible you are using for the assignment. Most of you will likely want to use the NRSV concordance to help you find the right verses in the New Revised Standard Version of the Bible. If you are not using the version of the Bible the concordance was compiled for, it is likely you will not find your image in the same places.

Click here for more information about using Oxford Biblical Studies Online.
Scripture Reference Searching in ATLA Religion Database
The ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials  is unique in that you can search and browse for specific Bible verses. 

Steps for scripture browse, a search that will return results that include the verse you select:
  1. At the top of the ATLA/EBSCOhost screen, click on "Scriptures" (third from the left).
  2. Scroll through the list of biblical books to find the one you are looking for. Click "[Expand]" next to it. NOTE: The biblical books are in canonical order. Click the "Previous" and "Next" links at the top or bottom to navigate through the lists.
  3. Scroll through the list of chapters to find the one you are looking for. Click "[Expand]" next to it.
  4. Scroll through the list of verses to find the one you are looking for. Click on it to perform the search. 
Steps for scripture index search, a search that will return results only for the verses you select:
  1. At the top of the ATLA/EBSCOhost screen, click on "More" then "Indexes."
  2. From the pull down menu, select "Scripture Citation." Enter your scripture reference in the second box. For example, John 10:11. Hit the enter key or click the "Browse" button.
  3. A list will appear with scripture references and the number of records corresponding to each reference. Many of the listings will overlap. Check the boxes next to each listing you would like to include in your search. Click the "Add" button when you are done with the listings on that page.
  4. Move backward or forward in the index by clicking "Previous" or "Next" at the top of bottom of the list. More listings that are relevant to your scripture reference may be immediately before or after the page you were directed to by the first browse. Check as many listings as you want to include in your search, and remember to click "Add" before going to another page in the index.
  5. When you are done adding listings, click "Search" next to the box at the very top. This will return the records for all the listings you checked and added to the search.
eResources for This Assignment
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Use the Scripture Browse and Scripture Index Search options to do targeted searches for journal articles on a particular Bible verse.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Type your image into the search box and do a keyword search to learn more about that image and where it appears in the Bible.
Off-Campus Access to eResources
Your library account number is your key to off-campus access to our databases and eResources. If you click on a link to a resource from this page or from the Databases page, it will likely take you to a screen that prompts you for your library account number. Simply enter your number in the space provided to gain access.

Oxford Biblical Studies Online requires a different username and password combination. You will find this information when you log in to your library account from the library catalog.

When you log in to your library account, you will also find direct links to EBSCOhost and Project MUSE. This is another way to access to these eResources from off-campus.

If you do not remember your library account number, lost your password, or have difficulties with off-campus access, please email the library staff or call the Circulation Desk at 717-290-8707. 
Guide to Major Protestant Denominations
The librarians at E. M. White Library at Louisville Seminary have developed this guide to major Protestant denominations in the U.S. It may be a helpful resource to you as you begin to research the mission statements and mandates of your own churches.

Denominations: Short Profiles of Christian Denominations in the U.S.
Writing Center
Need writing help or coaching?

Our writing coaches can help with any course assignment as well as any other type or project or application you are working on in your place of ministry. We work with you via email, by appointment, or during office hours. You can find us in the Schaff Library Conference Room or click below: