Welcome to CH100!
This guide provides additional resources you may find helpful as you take this course. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask your librarian!

This course has materials on course reserve. To see the full list of resources and their current availability click the link below:

Course Reserves for CH100 - Church History

Course reserves are available at the Circulation Desk. You may check out up to three items at a time for a three hour loan period. Reserves may be renewed up to two times if they are not on hold for another patron. If you check out a reserve within one hour of the library's closing, you may keep it overnight and return it within one hour of opening the following day. Overdue reserve items accumulate a fine of $1 per hour.
Seminary Librarian
 Photo of Myka Kennedy Stephens
Deaconess Myka Kennedy Stephens
Seminary Librarian and Assistant Professor of Theological Bibliography

Feel free to schedule an appointment with me to discuss your research needs. Click the button above to sign up for an available time.
NPR : Religion
NPR : Religion
Religious news reports from National Public Radio.
Latest Religion News from NPR

Loading ...

HuffPost Religion
HuffPost Religion
The Huffington Post Religion Section
Latest Stories from HuffPost Religion

Loading ...

Religion News Service
Religion News Service
Coverage of religion, ethics, and spirituality.
Latest Stories from RNS

Loading ...

The Christian Century
The Christian Century
Magazine covering theology, ministry, arts, politics, and culture.
Latest News from Christian Century

Loading ...

Christianity Today
Christianity Today
Magazine featuring articles on theology, church, ministry, and culture.
Latest Stories from Christianity Today

Loading ...

Tips for the Savvy Searcher
  • Start with a keyword search. This will return a broad list of results.
  • Narrow your search using the limiters on the left side of the page. Possiblities include:
    • Availability in library collection (Discovery search feature)
    • Type of publication
    • Date published
    • Subject
    • Language
  • When you look at a record for a resource that looks particularly useful, click on the hyperlinked subject headings in the record to launch new searches for those subject headings. This may return additional resources that didn't come up in your first keyword search.
  • Keep trying different keyword and subject searches as you go along.
Search our Library Catalog

Electronic Resources from the Library
Citing Sources in a Presentation
  • Quotes and Paraphrases: Use the Chicago footnote form to indicate where the quote, paraphrase, or idea came from. This is the form that arranges the source information into a sentence. Because this is a presentation and how it looks is important, place your citations in their own text box, use a smaller font size and place it near the bottom of the slide. 
  • Images and Photographs: It is crucial that you credit where your images came from, too! Place the photographer's name (if available) and a URL next to the photograph. This can be done by putting the text in a text box and placing it next to the image like a caption.
Difference between Footnote Form and Bibliography Form
When using Chicago Notes-Bibliography style, citations are formatted one way for footnotes and in a slightly different way for the bibliography. 

Footnotes read like sentences that appear at the bottom of the pages of your work.
#. Michael Pollan, The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals (New York: Penguin, 2006), 99-100.
Notice that there are commas separating the parts of the citation and a period appears only at the end.

A Bibliography is a comprehensive listing of all the sources used throughout a document. Bibliography entries are arranged alphabetically by the author's last name or by title when there isn't an author. Each entry reads like a paragraph.
Pollan, Michael. The Omnivore's Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals. New York: Penguin, 2006.

Weinstein, Joshua I. "The Market in Plato's Republic," Classical Philology 104 (2009): 439-58.
Notice that there are periods separating the parts of the citation. For longer entries that take up more than one line on the page, use a hanging indent to format each entry. Entries are single spaced with an empty line between each entry.
Annotations
An Annotated Bibliography is a bibliography that includes 1-3 paragraphs about each source. These paragraphs summarize the main points, assess and evaluate the author's argument, and/or reflect on its contribution to the scholarly conversation.

The annotations, or paragraphs about the source, should be fully indented underneath the bibliographic entry.

For more information and examples, see the Purdue OWL site.
URL Shorteners
Long URLs can be difficult to work with in a presentation. Try one of these URL shortening services:
Citation Helpers
  • EBSCO offers citation formatting within each record. Click the yellow square on the right for "Cite," then copy and paste the Chicago/Humanities formatted citation into your bibliography.
  • BibMe Online citation building tool
It's Not Just PowerPoint Anymore: Four Powerful Presentation Apps
Microsoft PowerPoint is the presentation application of the Microsoft Office suite. Different versions of Office/PowerPoint have different features, so PowerPoint 2010 looks slightly different from PowerPoint 2013. Keep this in mind when you are looking at tutorials and help guides. A PowerPoint presentation is built with individual slides. There are multiple default templates that can help you position your text and images on the slide (title slide, heading with text, blank slide, etc.). 

Google Slides is Google's answer to PowerPoint. All Lancaster Theological Seminary students have access to Google Slides via Google Drive. Within Google Drive click the "New" button and choose Google Slides from the drop down menu. Like PowerPoint, a Google Slides presentation is built with individual slides. These presentations can be downloaded in Microsoft PowerPoint format and opened in PowerPoint. Likewise, PowerPoint files can be uploaded to Google Drive and converted to Google Slides format. As a cloud application, Google Slides requires an Internet connection to access your file and save your changes. 

If you use a Mac computer or an Apple iPhone or iPad, you may be familiar with Keynote, the Apple iWork presentation application. Keynote is also available as an application in iCloud, and now anyone can create a free iCloud account to use Apple's Pages, Numbers, and Keynote applications. Like PowerPoint and Slides, Keynote presentations are built with individual slides. The application is designed with Apple's distinct touch and those who enjoy that aesthetic will likely enjoy using this app for creating presentations.

If you're looking for a presentation application that thinks outside the slide, then you're looking for Prezi. Prezi is a cloud-based application that starts with a canvas instead of individual slides. Content is positioned on the canvas and the presentation takes a charted course through frames of the content, panning, zooming, and rotating as necessary. Designing presentations in Prezi that don't make your audience nauseous takes some practice. But don't let that discourage you. Once you get the hang of it, you'll be delivering memorable three-dimensional presentations that will make your audience forget about slides. Prezis can be presented via the Prezi website or downloaded for offline presentation situations.
Tips for Professional-looking Presentations
  • Citing sources in a presentation is just as important as in a paper. Identify the source of quotes, photos/images, statistics, etc. fully enough that the viewer can trace it. Details to include are: creator's name, title or URL of source, date and/or other identifying information. If using a lot of sources, a complete bibliography can also be added to the end of the presentation.
  • As in most things - Keep It Simple! Stay away from flashy animations, transitions, sound effects, and more.
  • Dark text on lighter backgrounds is easier to read when projected on a screen than light text on darker backgrounds
  • Your content is the star, not your background. Backgrounds should not distract or take away from what is displayed on them.
  • Remember that not everyone sees color the same way. Avoid combining reds and greens that are similar shades. This article goes into detail about choosing colorblind-friendly palettes.
Video Tutorials to Inspire and Help You Get Started
Create Your First PowerPoint 2013 Presentation (Office Videos)
Getting Started with Keynote for iCloud (Tuts+ Computer Skills)
Get Started with Google Drive in Under 3 Minutes (Amy Mayer)
Prezi Tutorial: Get Started in Prezi (Prezi)